The Five Pillars

Sahih al Bukhari | Chapter 2 Hadith 8 | Narrated Ibn 'Umar

Allah’s Messenger (ﷺ) said: Islam is based on the following five principles

  • 1. To testify that none has the right to be worshipped but Allah and Muhammadﷺ is Allah’s Messenger
  • 2. To offer the (compulsory congregational) prayers dutifully and perfectly
  • 3. To pay Zakat (i.e. obligatory charity)
  • 4. To perform Hajj. (i.e. Pilgrimage to Mecca)
  • 5. To observe fast during the month of Ramadan


More Hadith